How to proceed

Hey all. This is pretty vague but I’m looking at getting some new hardware given a disappointing experience with a pretty popular new laptop company. To make a long story short, I’m down one laptop and up about $2,000 Canadian kopeks, looking for options to satisfy my computing needs.

My situation briefly is that I’m a Business Analysis student with a strong interest in computers (probably should have taken Computer Science but c’est la vie). I was having issues running Windows 11 on a Vivobook x415da laptop (BSOD on every boot, watchdog timer violation; maybe AMD drivers. Oddly rock solid under Fedora even with closed source drivers…). This is unacceptable as I needed a reliable Windows machine for school (I cannot run our exam invigilation software on Linux or in VM Windoze). I tried to buy a really nice laptop but it didn’t work out (at all!). With the refund process started, I purchased a Thinkpad T480 (i5-8350u FHD) which will satisfy the Windoze-mobile-repairability aspects of my computing needs. But I need power and reliability.

With the remaining $1,500 (these are Canadian dollars, note. We pay some kind of premium compared to our neighbours to the south as you might deduce from the price of the T480), I think it would be nice to build a desktop which is sufficiently powerful for my needs, and will be modular and upgradeable (so no mini pc’s please! MS-01 looks cool but…).

I like to play with R and python in my spare time… would like to get into machine learning, big data analysis, maybe even LLMs eventually. I also like to do a bit of gaming now and again, but mostly older games (Metal Gear Solid V might be one of the most modern games in my Steam library, i.e. 2015). If I can game with this machine then I can retire an old Elitedesk 800 G1 and turn it into a NAS :smiling_imp: (then maybe it would be nice to reserve a bit of money for some “spinning rust”).