How to format old truenas boot ssd

Hi, i am pretty new to linux and truenas.
I build a truenas server a few months ago, had a boot ssd fail, swapped the ssd for a 256gb(only one i had spare). I got a new ssd and did a fresh install. Now i want to format the temporary 256gb ssd, but nothing i try seem to work. Windows can’t format, fdisk gives an error, gparted says it worked but nothing changed… i am out of Ideas… anyone have an idea?

Big thanks in advance!

Hi @Bietelboer, welcome to Level1!

While you didn’t say this with as many words I assume you are trying to reuse the 256GB ssd and run into issues. Based on prior Windows experience you assume that “format drive” will return your drive into a condition that allows reuse.

I think the root cause for your troubles is the current state of partitioning and initialization (choice of file system) of partitions (or lack thereof).

In 2024, any PC based storage should be organized using a GUID partition table (gpt). On modern PCs with UEFI (instead of older BIOS) Windows 10/11 even refuses to recognize storage that is organized using older MBR partition tables.
I think the best tool to check/correct this is gparted (because you mentioned it above). Follow the steps in the link to create a gpt partition table on your SSD. Note, that creating a new partition table will make any existing data inaccessible.

This step will likely make Windows installer recognize the drive (for a fresh install), also Windows should allow you to “create new partition” and “initialize” said partition. If you plan on using the drive with Windows in an ancient PC (or in BIOS compatibility mode) select “MBR” as partition table.

You can use gparted to create a new partition (at least one). Depending on your intended use you may want to format that parition in NTFS (for use in Windows) or select one of the Linux file systems of your choice (ext4, xfs, or btrfs).

Good luck!