How to fix USB DAC on Ubuntu?

So I’m new to Linux and I’m having a bunch of issues related to USB audio devices that are literally driving me up the wall. First my audio was super distorted then I found out that changing to a different USB port fixed that but I don’t know why then later my audio stopped working altogether for what seems like no reason. I’m currently using an Objective DAC from Mayflower Electronics and it works perfectly fine under Windows but on Linux it seems to be hit or miss even though it should work as a plug and play device.

Anyone know how to fix this?

Also I don’t really know how Linux works but it seems to be related to pulse audio or something not working. I had sound before but something happened and I’ve edited the daemon.conf like 50 times now trying to get it to work.

couple of things:

usb3 sound devices don’t work well on linux because there isn’t a class compliant spec yet

usb2 sound devices need to be in a usb2 port, xhci causes problems for them

the usb2 device needs to be class compliant, and even then may not work completely, especially if they provide asio deivers for windows.

here are some non comprehensive lists of supported hardware:

https://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/hardware_support

https://linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic.php?t=17472

you can also check dmesg and other log sources to see if the device is disconnecting due to inconsistent power, and if your motherboard has USB power management features, set them to “always on” or disable them

Don’t forget to change sample rates and bit depth in /etc/pulse/daemon.conf

I changed the daemon.conf and nothing in there seems to change anything.

I thought USB class audio devices were standard? I mean the DAc works (sometimes) and only in some USB ports. To my knowledge the USB ports don’t feature power management but I could be wrong.