How-To delete Xbox (Beta) for PC Orphan Folders

All -

Let me start by saying that I’ve been using the service for almost 2 months now, at the beginning was great then I found some deal breaking issues that just made me cancel my subscription . Maybe after a while it’ll be more polished but right now I can’t really pay for something so buggy and that is a nightmare to work with all the “security put into the WindowsApp” folder (more into this later).

I’ve tested the app in 3 different machines:

• i5-4690k / RX 570 / 32GB of RAM
  • i7-4790k / GTX 1070 / 32GB of RAM
  • Ryzen 2700x / GTX 1080 / 32GB of RAM

All of them with fresh installs of Windows 10 1903 and the only thing that change when the micro stutters started was installing the Xbox (beta) app, this was replicated on all 3 machines. I got to this conclusion after weeks of troubleshooting because Intel systems had new hard drives and the i5 was delidded, I thought I might’ve broken my CPU but when I started to use other machines I realize that the only thing affecting all of them was the Xbox (beta) app. This is a deal breaker for me because the stutters are felt even by just hovering the mouse pointer over files in File Explorer, so at the end of the day it affects my PC experience in general. My wild guess is that this has something to do with the Game Bar or any other necessary Xbox “feature” necessary to access the service, not sure really. It’s worth mentioning that I tested all systems with Linux Mint, this has helped me in the past to identify faulty hardware, since if it’s hardware you will find issues in both Windows and Linux alike.

I’m posting this for people that might be experiencing unexpected frame drops in games where you didn’t have them to begin with, that’s how I discovered this issue. Right now all 3 machines have fresh Windows 10 1903 installs with Uplay, Origin, Steam and GOG installed and games running just like before I started testing Xbox Beta for PC.