How do I create a load balancer/failover server for my homelab?

Hey guys, so I have been using Linode since 2019. However, last night, I switched to Vultr. Linode offers better value for their service, however, Vultr offers the lowest cost plans with the cheapest cloud compute costing only $2.50 per month at their Atlanta and NY datacenters (though if you want IPv4, you need to use their NY datacenter to get access to the $3.50 per month plan). It would be more beneficial from a latency perspective to use their Atlanta datacenter, as I have been with Linode, but having IPv4 is nice. Their cheapest plan uses “last generation Intel CPUs”; and it comes with 1vCPU, 512mb of RAM, and 10gb of “regular” (as opposed to “fast NVMe”) SSD storage - I am assuming by regular that they mean SATA. By comparison, the plan comparable to my Linode plan would be $6 - $1 more than Linode.

Well they also have a free tier and it’s the exact same hardware as the $3.50 tier I am using. The catch is that you have to apply for it, and the selection is random. Well I got accepted into the program. There’s another catch. I can only use the free tier for the year. I do not know how or if you can renew it. Because of that catch, I think I am going to keep my $3.50 per month tier and use the free tier as a load balancer/failover server, not that one is needed, but I might as well use it; it’s free. I was hoping I could use the free tier in a data center closer to me (ideally Atlanta, but Dallas or Chicago is good too). Alas, it seems that the only options I have are Miami and Seattle. New York is 931 miles away, and, rather surprisingly, Miami is a whopping 878 miles from me according to Google maps. I say it like that because Florida borders my own state, whereas New York is 5 states away.