How do I craft the SRV BIND DNS record for custom ports?

I am using Portainer which uses port 9443 for its administration.

How do I write the SRV BIND DNS record such that it will “translate” “https://portainer.example.home:9443” to “https://admin.example.home”?

I am using SLES12 SP4’s DNS Server to help with writing the DNS records (for now, until I get the hang of it).

I have my master zone set up along with the A record:
portainer.example.home A 10.0.1.172
admin.example.home SRV 0 0 9443 portainer.example.home

But when I try nslookup admin.example.home, it should return 10.0.1.172 (which is the IP address for portainer.example.home) but instead, it says that the record can’t be found.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Have you considered using an http proxy, such as nginx-proxy?

The use of such a service allows simple creation of subdomains for any new service (portainer, pihole, etc.) and and accessing the service via CNAME records in BIND.

I have read a few reddit and/or other forum-esque comments talking about nginx reverse proxy, but I haven’t found an “idiot’s” (me) way to deploy it (e.g. via turnkey linux as a LXC container template) or something along those lines.

Right now, the closest thing that I have gotten to it is by using the DNS server out of SLES12 SP4, where I am able to specify A records and SRV records (but I don’t think that the SRV records are working, to be honest), so I am using the A records with :9443 appended to the end of the local service domain name to get to the admin page, etc.

Still a little bit easier for the rest of my family to memorise a bunch of different IP addresses.

edit