How and when should you get a coding job?

Hi!

I'm a really passionate hobbyist programmer, i would really like to work as programmer but i don't know what and how should i do. I don't have any formal education, or experience in a company so i don't even know how to begin, what to say to get hired. and where should i ask. I'm able to produce functioning software ( but mostly i'm too shy to make it public because it know it's shit, and i know my faults ) . I tried to seek out people to make Games but that never went well, and eventually noting got done by anyone who wasn't a programmer. So I'd really like to do more than writing little programs for myself, what should I do?

Personally as I was transitioning into a professional career into programming I started making my own software professionally. Creating quality and good quality programs which people will start to pay a lot of attention to. Usually creating something notable is a good step towards a more professional side of your programming. It really helps with portfolio work when applying to somewhere which is more than a startup. (start ups are a great place to start as well)

Many start ups don't care about your education. A portfolio is far more important as it shows what you can actually do. 

The first thing I would say is just start your own company. Nothing crazy, just think of a name for your company and the software you have written is what your company makes. It does not matter if the software works or not. Next, write a resume. At the top of your resume, list all of the computer languages and applications you know well.

E.g.,

Languages: Java, Groovy, JavaScript, C++, Ruby

Applications: Apache, Tomcat, JBoss, Glassfish, Tuxedo, ExtJS, jQuery

Databases: MySQL, MongoDB, PostgreSQL