Hosting large files for download

I’m looking for the most cost-effective way to host a public domain repository of files.

I create free CC0 VJ loops that people can download and use for their projects: https://mantissa.xyz/pages/vj.html

I used to host them on a subdomain of my website’s server because at the time is was easy to set up and I was just getting started.
Recently, I switched over to Linode’s Object Storage (@wendell mentioned it in a video), after noticing my website had been slowing down with people hitting the repo of files.

I thought 1TB of transfer per month would be enough, but boy was I wrong. I’m averaging roughly 250GB / day of transfer and haven’t even moved other public resources on to it yet.

I’m a freelance artist so I would prefer a fixed cost solution instead of a system that runs in to overages. Does anyone here have any suggestions?
I can fall back on what I did before, but my website will end up suffering and the connection can be very unstable, as more than a few people had been pointing out recently.

I’m happy to spin up a server that I manage myself, I just don’t really know where to start for this kind of thing. :stuck_out_tongue:

Any advice is welcome!

Take a look at soyoustart or kimsufi, those are dedicated boxes that you manage yourself. However you mentioned that you’d like your website to be responsive when its being hit by a lot of people, so it might not be the best solution for you.

I don’t know how much data you’re storing but maybe google drive…? You could mount it over fuse on some cheap VPS and expose its contents to nginx or whatever you’re using.

You should look into cloudflare serving cached content if you stuff does not change frequently.

1 Like

I picked Object Storage because it offered 250GB, of which I would say I’m using roughly 110GB at the moment.