Homelab/Storage Setup (M900 Thinkcenter)

Hey All,

I am looking to reconfigure my homelab and hoping for some guidance. I have a M900 with 8GB of RAM. I use it to run several containers (Unifi, Jellyfish, Nextcloud, monitoring, etc) and everything is running fine, but I want to have the best layout for storage to have it also be a NAS. Currently, I have a 500GB SATA M.2 and 500GB SSD that is partitioned and in an LVM raid for my containers and photos plus a single HDD via USB for other media. I have now a 4 disk USB 3.0 hub that I will populate with some 1 or 2 TB disks for extra storage. I run everything via CLI on Debian. Nothing fancy…

I am familiar with LVM and MD raid and I have little knowledge of ZFS. I was thinking of mirroring the m.2 and ssd with several partitions for logs, Container storage and the OS, then run the hard disks in MD or LVM raid, but I am not sure how else I could configure this for maximum performance. Do I have enough overhead for ZFS and to use a disk for caching? Is that worth it even?

What do you guys and gals think for an optimal setup?

1 Like

Sounds like an interesting project.

I’d suggest starting here. 8GB is not very much ram and if you want to go ZFS it will thank you. Note 8GB will run fine but more is better.

I suspect you will get a lot of different opinions but at the end of the day there is no one right answer. It will be a compromise of cost Vs resilience Vs speed. Based on your infrastructure here is my suggestion:

If you want long term resilient storage I would avoid relying on the usb hub and move the drives into some kind multibay usb DAS enclosure

For good resilience you want to run at least mirrors for the drives (ie Raid1). For anything more complex you need more drives and with the m900 you will struggle.