Homelab: SAS drives + card VS mobo chipset + SATA drives, network hardware

I’d like you’re thoughts on how to address these choices using reliable, low cost hardware to build my homelab FreeNAS server and select network hardware. I’ll be learning about FreeNAS as I know. I have some personal experience with linux, but am not an expert.

I am looking at building a FreeNAS server with a ZFS HDD drive array for homelab projects. I’d like to keep a budget of $200 for the data setup to give an idea. $150 for only SATA drives. This project is mostly for NAS, but also local web dev and IoT sensor data. No massive performance needed. Using a non-server grade motherboard with 6 SATA ports and 1 Gbit LAN. I’d like the ZFS array capable of at least 200 MB / sec read and write for sustained transfers. I’m planning to use 4 x 3TB HDDs, a modern, midlevel multicore processor, and 16gb RAM which I’d like to believe is more than capable of providing that transfer rate.

What needs to be considered when using a non-server grade motherboard with a SAS card to run FreeNAS for a ZFS disk array?

I’m looking for outside perspective on whether and why to go with SAS drives and a card instead of a mobo’s chipset and SATA drives and not get a card. The additional cost for SAS components is something I’d like to avoid unless the performance gain worth it overall. I’m thinking there are some SAS drives that have much higher reliability than consumer SATA drives. That being said, the question is whether can I find used products that still provide that long term reliability within the budget.

SATA drives: I was considering used drives from this amazon vendor: goHardDrive.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B07NQV7T11?tag=synack-20&linkCode=osi&th=1&psc=1