Home surveillance with ZoneMinder

I am looking for some thoughts on purchasing a used server to run ZoneMinder. My setup, once completed, may have up to 8 cameras at 1440p. I plan on running all or the majority of these cameras in motion detect mode. I would like to keep the cost of the PC, minus storage, under $250.

I currently have one 1440p camera that I cam conducting some testing with. I have Zoneminder installed on my i3 Skylake system with Ubuntu 16.04LTS.

From the reading I have done, it seems that ZoneMinder likes a high core count and a fair bit of RAM. I am thinking that it may be cheaper to purchase a used rack server than to put an i7 in the rig I am currently using. Not only that, I can get a significantly higher core count with the used server. I have no experience with enterprise equipment. Is there anything special that I need to be on the lookout for? What are your thoughts here?

I found this system on eBay, I seems like it might work quite well.
https://www.dell.com/downloads/emea/products/R410_spec_sheet.pdf

In addition, I will need a POE switch. I am also not above going with a used switch. I plan on connecting a second router, that I already have, to my network and putting the Zoneminder server on a different subnet, so that the server does not have access to any of my other systems on the network. I have looked at used Cisco switches, but I have no experience with configuring them. Is this a huge learning curve?

For storage, I will most likely use WD purples or something similar.

As I do not have a server rack currently, the hardware does not need to be rack mount. Though I would like to rack mount my networking equipment eventually; now may be the time to do this.

Thanks you all for the assistance!

You can’t with a R410, its SAS only.

1 Like

Newegg has some 3TB WD SAS drives for 100 bucks. Do you see any issues with using these for a system with this use case?