High ppi displays - my personal monitor dilemma (no gaming)

Hello there,

and welcome to my personal monitor dilemma! After years of using 1 27" 1440p display I thought it is finally time to start something new.

So I hooked a 32" 4k display up to my desktop. I liked the additional real estate and sharper fonts but somewhat the image quality was a bit lacking. Then I worked (Admin and hobby Media Production) with this solution for 3 weeks.
Still did not feel satisfied and thought well might as well try the multi monitor route and hooked up a 27" 4k together with my 27" 1440p. Was a bit shocked how much sharper fonts appear on the 27" 4K display compared to the 1440p and even to the 32" 4K one. With a lot of “bigger” displays I worked on very briefly in the past it always felt like the fonts looked like “shit” even if they have “okayish” ppi. I am not an expert on display technology so those are just my observations.

Long story short now I really do not want anything that is less sharp than this 27" 4K display but I think still need just a tiny bit more real estate. A second full 27" display seems too much and I move my head way too much for my liking also I am not making the best use of all the available pixels. Thinking about getting an older 24" 4k display as secondary screen but maybe there is a better solution.

There is a LG “5K ultrawide” but it seems that it is a terrible products with lots of issues reported online and only one of those kind being available does not inspire much confidence.

Also I am quite sensitive to flickering and certain types of color schemes (classic darkmode is pain in the ass for me to read). So I need something with a decent backlight. Oled offerings would be really interesting as well but it appears none of the ones I would be interested in will surface in the foreseeable future.

I hope this was not too much rambling for you guys and you might have some valuable input for me.

Cheers

1 Like