Hi all, Linux noob, running Pop OS

I’m not a complete noob, I’ve used Raspberry Pi’s since the first one, and I’ve learned a little.
But my Linux knowledge is really really tiny compared to M$ OS’s.

I’m certainly not scared of the CLI, I used DOS 5 back in the day.

But yes I consider myself a complete Linux noob.

So how can I unscramble my brain and learn a new (to me) OS?
Does anyone have any good links to noob tutorials, videos, or even recommend a couple of good books?

I basically ran windows for a few apps and Steam. Now steam has proton, there’s really not much need to stick with it. I also have a PS4 too, so really my gaming needs are taken care of.

The reason for the change? To learn something new and challenging. Also a friend told me way back in the early 90’s that I should forget about Windows and learn Linux. I wish I had taken his advice, I’d be a Linux guru by now, and probably quite a bit richer and in a better job.

But hey, I’m here and I’m ready now,

Many thanks,
Darron.

3 Likes

Hello and welcome, dazbobaby!

There is a lot of info out there in the wild. Here is some of the material that I used.

https://linuxjourney.com/

I think you can get this book in the recent HumbleBundle

And a couple of cheat sheets for fast referencing

Note: the rm -rf /make computer faster is a joke.

There is a lot of stuff here in the forum but you have to dig to find the useful info.

@Dje4321 did a series tutorials you might find helpful

As for videos this guy has playlists that I found helpful in the past.

There is always wendel and his level1linux channel

2 Likes

Learnlinux.tv on YouTube has some pretty good tutorials for new users.

1 Like

Sorry for the delay dobzz and Boosted, I’ve just followed all the info you both posted and went down a rabbit hole.