Hey remember that juicer from the news. Here is a tear down of it

Wish the chain saw had worked.
Damn you could go to space with this thing. Thing must cost a crap ton just to machine.

11 Likes

As a machinist I can tell you that they lose money on the machine, its the razor blade model but worse because of the subscription.

thats well over a thousand dollars of machining if its made in America

I got a razor handle for free in the mail on my 18th birthday. I still use that handle, which means I buy their razors.

When I worked at Black & Decker, my mechanical engineer friend, was having trouble with the new food processor failing prematurely in testing. He couldn't figure it out because he had designed many food processors in the past and the new one was just a 'shell-over' of the previous model he had designed.

It turned out the the new cheaper Chinese manufacturer (Windmere) was not machining an edge onto the blades of the food processor as specified. They thought using thinner sheet metal and just stamping them out like they do in China was acceptable.

Black & Decker tools (which aren't great) are made in America. DeWalt tools are good. Black & Decker Household Products is no longer owned by B&D, and are made in China. I no longer own anything I helped to make, because they all died within 6 months.

2 Likes

I think there is a market for quality built products that arent all marketing wank, but dont know of any company that does it that way anymore.

4 Likes

My Dad was given a Black & Decker drill and a circular saw in the 1950's by a carpenter that bought them in the 1940's. The outside of those suckers are made of aluminum and they still work great.

When I worked with carpenters in the 1990's they told me "If you buy a Black & Decker saw, when the blade wears out just throw the whole thing away." Companies make more money if their shit is constantly breaking, regardless of the bad reputation that causes.

1 Like