Help with Ryzen RAM OC performance/stability choices

Have a couple questions on a Ryzen 3 2200G system I’m building.

Please bear with me, I’m a newbie with OC’ing. I didn’t realize that if I wanted my RAM to run above 2133 on these systems I would be required to OC it to some degree. Since I spent the money on faster RAM and from all I hear Ryzen will excel with speeds 2600+ I’m forced to play around :wink:

Some of my questions here may be nit-picky, but I would like to really understand what is going on here and some of the decisions/math serious OC’ers look at.

I’ve got a hold of two different sets of RAM:

a) G.SKILL - which is 2666 @ 15-15-15-35

and

b) PATRIOT which is 3000 @ 16-16-16-36

So first, I have some questions about THEORY:

If my math is correct ((T = 1 /f) * CL), based on what I can gather the total latency for these is 11.25ns and 10.67ns respectively.

(Seemingly making the PATRIOT the better choice based on total latency)

The G.SKILL I have tested so far to 2933 @ 14 CL.
This would equate to a total latency of 9.54ns.

The PATRIOT I have tested so far to 3200 @ 18 CL.
This would equate to a total latency of 11.25ns.

Is my “math” right here in that on paper the G.SKILL RAM should perform better (at least in terms of latency)?

As far as real world testing, I got the following results from AIDA64 memory tests:

The G.SKILL @ 2933/14:

Read/Write/Copy/Latency
42676/43613 /39350/70.6

The PATRIOT @ 3200/18:

Read/Write/Copy/Latency
45833/47532/42037/71.9

It would seem the G.SKILL has slightly better latency, but the PATRIOT has faster read/write speeds. As a data point, the PATRIOT at 2933 has the following numbers:

Read/Write/Copy/Latency
42156/43866/38344/75.8

So at equivalent speeds it seems the read/write speeds are very close, but the G.SKILL has better latency. I’m assuming that this is due to the lower CL that the G.SKILL has ??