Help with new rig primarily for AI/ML applications and passthrough

Hey @all,

I am new to this forum but follow the youtube channel and after the friendly invitations in the videos I thought I try my luck here.

I am not a complete novice to building computers but also no a pro. My last build is quite a number of years ago. I need a complete new rig primarily for heavy lifting deep learning NLP applications. Plan is to train test locally and then burst compute on the cloud.

But I also need to use the rig for several systems (pass through → potentially at the same time) and maybe some occasional graphic work / renders but nothing too intense on that end I guess.

Please note that NLP usually takes a significant amount of GPU RAM on the engaged graphic units.

Here are the proposed components and resulting question of which I hope you can answer. I plan a 4 screen work setup.

Processor: AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3955WX, 16x 3.90GHz

MB: ASUS Pro WS WRX80E-Sage SE WIFI

Cooler: Fractal Design Celsius+ S36 Prisma

RAM:

either

• Trident Z NEO either the F4-360016Q-64GTZNC
  • gskill(dot)com /specification/165/326/1562840280/F4-3600C16Q-64GTZNC-Specification

or

• F4-3600C18D-64GTZN
  • gskill(dot)com /specification/165/326/1582265908/F4-3600C18D-64GTZN-Specification

SSD: something like the Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 2TB, M.2

HDD: anything really

Case: be quiet! Dark Base Pro 900

Power: be quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W

GPUs: no this is where it gets interesting. I am planning for 3 GPUs. 1 system one and 2 for combined and/or individual passthrough.

Potentially something like this:

• MSI GeForce RTX 3070 Suprim (system)
  • MSI GeForce RTX 3090 Ventus 3X 24G OC (2 of those)

Question 1: