Help with DIY NAS, Server and more buiild from old PC laying around

Hi,

I am new to LevelOneTechs fourms. I have been following the channel for some time and today I have decided to dare and ask about this here.

I have an old X79 (i7-3930K) system with 64 GB DDR3 RAM and a GTX 1060 or Radeon WX4100(workstation card) or GTX 670 laying around for a while now and I want to build a NAS and Server (along with a few things more if possible).

• My main purpose for the NAS (as of now) is to have 1TB backup(google photos, videos from phones and other personal media devices) for me and my family(over the internet from different country). Data saftey is important, ease of backing up photos from mobile phones.
    Thinking of getting 2x8TB drives(for now and expand later) so that after 1TB backup each for me and my family I have at least 2 to 4 TB for Work and other VMs(if needed).

• Help me with my work footage, multimedia work and live-streaming(Twitch, Youtube). Planning to get a used 10GBe + 2.5GBe or 10GBe + 1GBe switch

• Plex (Jellyfin) and similar services

• PfSense router (Virtual machine). Can I for now use my existing Netgare D7000 V1 as Access Point and later get a proper Access Point like Ubiquiti later once WiFi 7 comes out :smiley:

I am a complete novice in terms of servers, NAS or Networking and so please consider this while answering. I am willing to learn and get my hands a little dirty down the lane but at the least, I need something to be up and running.

I have recently upgraded my home ethernet runs to a CAT8 (indeed abolute overkill) hoping that this would help me to work on the files over the LAN instead of having them on my main PC.

I was looking for tutorials on Youtube but there is a piece here and a bit there not not all together as I need.

Please help me understand what I am getting myself into here. Is this possible or is this way too complicated? What all hardware might I need and what parts of the software I may have to dabble in?