Help specing out a server for Autodesk Vault

I’m a mechanical engineer that manages our Autodesk Vault installation. Vault is a data management system that essentially stores every version of our 3D CAD files with a database to maintain versions and relations between files. It’s currently running in a VM with a few xeon silver 4314 cores assigned to it. It’s not running great.

I’m not very familar with server hardware and with the large amount of options and how lousy some OEMs make configuring systems. I don’t know what a reasonable system should be. I have basic specs in mind and would appreciate some input on picking a config to meet those specs. Right now this is for budgetary discussions to see if saving 5 engineers possibly hours a week is worth it (my engineering coworkers and I believe it is).

I personally wouldn’t mind building a threadripper system but considering this is for a business, going prebuilt enterprise hardware would be better.

16 core cpu with high clock speed
128gb ram
2x 4tb hdd or ssd in raid 1
Dell is apparently my workplaces preferred server, but I’d take any brand
We also use windows server with hyper-v for VMs, Vault is windows only

For a relatively low investment you can give EPYC a try, by purchasing used 1st gen EPYC hardware from Aliexpress. For under 1000USD you can get a SuperMicro H11SSL-i mainboard, a 32 core AMD 7551P EPYC CPU, 4x 32Gb ECC LDIMM RAM and a 2U cooler with fan. I know, I have 2 of these :stuck_out_tongue:

Add a 1TB NVMe drive for the OS and VM’s, storage to taste, install ProxMox as host, then spin up some Win-OS VM’s for your tools as required and you should be able to try out before committing large sums of money into enterprise solutions. Benefit of this route: should something go astray with said enterprise gear, you have the EPYC system as fall-back option.

Just me tuppence :nerd_face: