Help my current build is not awesome

Hi there I am a Graphics artist that lives in Illinois, I work in the game industry. My current home rig is slammed together like a toaster with a really bad hangover. I do a lot of work from home so I need help figuring out how to not make it suck so bad. For example I have 4GBx6 of Gskill DDr3 but because of my motherboard I only have 3 sticks installed. I suffer from random blue screens ever senses i installed my Radeon R-290 any my old graphics card is 5 years old and is now dying. I have a sneaking suspicion my hard drive is about to fail too. All the other computers in my house are SSD and it feels like a slug. With that said Help would be awesome. I need to spend less than a grand.  Thanks for everything.

I currently have

EVGA E760 CLASSIFIED  1366 Intel X58 Intel Motherboard

i7-950 LGA1366

COOLER MASTER V8

4GBx6 of G-skill DDr3

R-290

Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W/ modular

Random 1.3 T hard drive.

What I am looking at

Crucial M500 960GB sta 2.5

I7-4770k

Some motherboard my current memory will work with?

What power supply do you have?  The R9 290 is likely much more power hungry than your old GPU.  Also, if your old GPU was from nvidia, did you uninstall the drivers?

Thanks for the response I forgot to mention its a Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W/ modular.

Your i7 is still a old, but decent CPU, and should still perform rather well.  Do you know what error the BSOD gives you?  A picture of the BSOD may help us as well.

If you really give up on your system, we can probably help you setup a new one.  Lots of parts should be able to be transferred to a new system.

The BSOD is so random, most the time it does not get that far, it just becomes very unresponsive. I would really like to use all the ram, but its only compatible with a few motherboards. I will post a pick of the BSOD as soon as i get it next.