Help me write a paper on computer repair

I've been wanting to write a paper on PC/Laptop Hardware failure rates, and now two professors have agreed to help me publish a paper on the subject. I have at least 100 records of repairs done(Over the last two years) at this shop that I can eventually build metrics/statistics off of, and I think I can get this published (which would be good for my college career here). Any suggestions would be nice.

Little background:
I've been doing repairs/IT work for a couple years. I noted a while ago that limited information on hardware failure rates exists at all, both public/independent.

I'm looking to write the best quality on the subject I can. It can be as extensive as I can go, so the more metrics we can provide, the better.

Here is what I'm thinking so far:

-Reasons machines are submitted to begin with (i.e. freezing, failure bootup, etc.) or common issues
-Hardware Failure rates by component
-Cause/effect relationships of hardware failure/repairs needed of any kind including:
Age of hardware/software
Obviously neglect (like water damage)

Thing is, I'm also wondering if anyone out there can provide some of the stats from their organizations (without providing private info, obviously) and with permission. I probably won't need anything but failure stats/repairs done over an annual period, this can be for repairs internally (within your organization) or externally (like for contracts, normal repairs, etc.).

Thoughts?

Even brand / price of the products that are having issues. From my experience most cheaper HP and Toshiba laptops have the highest failure rate here. Usually AMD based APU's, almost all failures are from the motherboard.

This is good, I've noticed this too. My previous employer tried to avoid selling the consumer grade Best Buy stuffs, cause we would almost certainty have them back for repair in less than a year. Tried to stick with more business line laptops.