Help me Plan my From-Scratch Home Network & NAS! (Long)

Hey everyone! Long time; no post.

I’ve been putting off a networking upgrade & NAS deployment in my new-construction house for a while now… I guess this isn’t an upgrade; is it just a ‘grade’ since I’m starting from scratch? I’m not a network engineer but I work in IT and I’ve gotten my hands dirty plenty of times. I welcome any and all constructive feedback; I’ve put a lot of thought and research into this but I’ve only got one brain and I’m hoping to dump its contents and bounce this off a great community.

I guess my thesis statement is that I’m not trying to build the world’s next great HomeLab™️ or chase nine ‘9’s… I just want my network to be pretty: go pretty fast, be pretty easy to use (once it’s set up), work pretty much most of the time, and be a pretty great value as I don’t want to spend a pretty penny…

Anyways, I’ve got symmetrical gigabit fiber with AT&T, coming to me live from the BGW320-500… which has honestly been doing great carrying the whole house on its back off in a corner, but it’s time to put it out of its misery.

So I’ll explain this in phases. TLDR I’m building up to a 2.5g backbone with frugality in mind, notably in the form of a router and nas built from office surplus.

Phase 1 - Getting our heads above water

• Right now, Im wifi-only in my 1850 sqft single story home built with stud & drywall. The gateway and office are on opposite sides of the house, and it works, but not well. Phase 1 begins with moving my ATT BGW320-500 into the office closet… Just drilling a hole in the closet’s ceiling and replacing the 4’ fiber patch from the PON to the Router with this 30m SC/APC fiber patch cable.