Help me find a linux distribution

i’m going to be buying ryzen parts soon so something that works well with a newer kernel.

i also plan to try running windows in a KVM/QEMU with gpu passthrough so there’s that.

lastly, i’d like to be able to use amdgpu-pro drivers.
i know the open source drivers are better in most cases but i’m going to be using Blender and the openCL gpu rendering is what i’m after with the “pro” drivers. i’ll likely be playing games in the winderps kvm anyway if that works out.

i recently installed fedora to check out and adjust to any changes before hand and was enjoying it only to find out that amdgpu-pro isn’t an option. that was kind of a buzz kill.

i may also need to add that while i’ve been using linux since 2008 it’s mostly been 'buntu and debian based distros. while i have borked up my install and had to fix it a few times and i am decently comfortable using the terminal, i’m not exactly confident i could get through screwing something up without having to grab my tablet and looking up how to fix whatever i screwed up.

so any suggestions?

AFAIK the only way to get the pro drivers is to manually compile your kernel to allow them. In that case arch/arch based would be the easier and most documented.

Ok, I must admit, it’s been a while (10y+) since I compiled on anything but Slackware, but isn’t the process still the same on all of them?

if you use something like antergos (an arch based distro) they give the option for at least nvidia proprietary driver so they probably have Radeon too.

The PRO drivers are only officially supported on Ubuntu LTS and RHEL/CentOS. The problem with both of these is that the included kernel will be too old to be fully compatible with your Ryzen CPU. I’d recommend Ubuntu with a custom PPA that has a newer kernel (I’d recommend >= 4.11 for Ryzen), or just compile your own.

1 Like