Help i messed up i need

Please help i messed up i ran the command rm -R * / folder in truenas scale lastest relase i am afraid i deleted would it have rm my zfs mount point it was mounted /mnt/data/
i know it wiped the root so i shut it down

is there a away to recover just the zfs with out snapshots i know some snapshots were made of some zfs pools

i have not done any starting of system after i shut it down

Ok so I am not an experienced expert on TrueNAS but I did try to switch between core and scale and each switch always recognizes the drives and the zfs pool from the prior installation and asked me if i wanted to use it. I answered yes and got my drives no problem. You can recover it if you have the keys to the pool - you did save them when TrueNAS prompted you, right?

I would suggest to wait for the more experienced users for their reply. Good luck!

I don’t know what rm -R does to mounted folders but if your ZFS data is on a separate drive you can usually just plug the ZFS drives into another TrueNAS machine and import them easily. This is what I do with my external USB drive and have to re-import it each time I plug it in

1 Like

The first step is to not attempt mounting of the disks - something like TrueNAS may try to auto import the pool. I’d do some research on how to turn off auto importing, and how to do a read-only import. Once you’ve mounted it read only you can verify if there are any missing files, and if there is any data corruption.

The good news is that as a copy on write filesystem, most of your data is probably still there. IIRC you can use the zdb command to “rollback” ZFS to an earlier transaction. Let me stress though, the exact procedure you follow is going to be the important part here.

@wendell Since you’ve done this recently, do you have any good resources on ZFS data recovery?