Help - Can not get vulkan working

Hi,
I am new to linux and still learning. I do play games so I wanted to set up my PC for light gaming too. I tried to install all mesa drivers but could not get vulkan working. (Also installed steam). Tried to install official driver from AMD site still could not got it working. After that I uninstalled the driver and installed mesa again. This is the error I get with vulkan info command.

1 Like

I’m no expert on Vulkan, but it looks like its running the VulkanInfo command with no errors. All I see are warnings. Which doesn’t mean that vulkan isn’t working. Is there an actual error message somewhere? How do you know vulkan is not working? Is there a specific game you can’t get working?

Can you post the full output from the vulkaninfo command?

It looks like you may be using a driver that is no longer supporting your GPU. You may need to install an older driver.

Update README.md: Remove Pre-Polaris and Pre-Raven GPUs support · GPUOpen-Drivers/AMDVLK@00f5343 · GitHub

that is not an error, it is nearly a warning that lavapipe is installed. my vulkan works perfectly and i still get this warning. i have lavapipe installed and get the warning, but that doesnt mean that lavapipe is even being attempted to be used.
does vkcube work?

Eh not exactly, “Failed to create instance” isn’t good :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

To actually test vulkan I would rather use vkcube though, which is part of the vulkan-tools package (or vulkantools, not sure on Ubuntu). Either way it should be installed already since it’s typically in the same package as vulkaninfo. vkcube should open a window with a spinning cube, similar to glxgears for OpenGL.

That is AMDVLK, which is not a driver, but a Vulkan implementation. And this is also AMD’s implementation, not Mesa.