Hello, opinions on difficulty of VPN setup vs Firewall vs other for first project?

Hello all,

I wanted to say hello, but also to sneak in a VoxPop: What are the relative difficulties of these projects.
For context, I’m a total beginner at linux with limited exposure to the IT industry. I’ve been watching the L1t News for a year or two and have caught the paranoia bug; I dream of Windows running in a VM locked down tighter than a duck’s ass, a smart phone running similarly, and a way of monitoring incoming/outgoing traffic, and lording it over webmaster’s pitiable requests for tracking cookies.
Perhaps what I want is impossible as that horse has bolted; perhaps I just need to start working on it and it comes in time?

On the assumption that if I knew everything you guys did, I’d be able to answer my own questions, what are you fine people’s opinions on the difficulty of each of the projects?

Setting up 2nd PC as a Firewall ( n/10)
Buying and configuring a VPN service ( n/10)
Setting up a custom VPN ( n/10)
Creating a linux machine with a Win10 VM ( n/10)
Setting up an Android/iOS-less smartphone ( n/10)

Thoughts welcome, and thanks for taking a look

1 Like

Weighing in from a technical perspective (I know how I’d do these things, but just haven’t) and educated guess work:

• Linux + windows VM = 2-3/10 … this is well documented and standardized for the most part.

• Setting up a 2nd PC as a Firewall…So basically a Pi-Hole? = 3-5/10 … should be relatively simple project that has plenty of guides

• Setting up custom VPN = 5-10/10 … this really depends on scope and complexity, do you want to have it always available to log into from anywhere? Do you plan to setup nodes in the cloud? Etc…This also has good guides and tutorials, but I imagine it’d be real easy getting lost in the weeds.