HBA advice for Dell r710/HP dl380 G7, connecting to a Dell SC200

To start off I would like to state that I am very new to the “enterprise” hardware game so I may ask something stupid. I have been a linux admin as my primary job for years but I have never worked in a data center.

I recently got a really good deal on a Dell SC200 enclosure (https://goo.gl/3rFJd8) but both of my servers are not able to use it due to the lack of external connections. I would rather hook it up to the HP since it uses less power but I am not sure if there would be a compatibility issue so the Dell would be fine if It comes down to it.

If everything works out this system would be simply a dedicated ZFS NAS for my home and its largest tasks would be running Plex (2 streams max) or storing VM snapshots, and I think the L5630 processor in the HP is up to the task.

I have been looking into the 9200-8e and 9207-8e but I am having issues locating any data on compatibility with my servers or the SC200 unit itself. To be quite honest I am unable to find any really solid information on the SC200, there seems to be no manual and I have seem conflicting reports on its max drive size some say 4TB or some say up to 6TB. If anyone can provide me with this information or let me know of any other things I may run into along the way it would be really awesome.

I would like to spend less than $150 on cards and cables if I can but if I go a bit over it’s not the end of the world.

This is also a post on /r/homelab so sorry if you saw it twice.

Hi jswazy! Just found you’re post here (looking for some info for the sc200 as well) and like yourself, i’m also looking to hook a sc200 to a r710. I just took a hard guess and ordered a 9207-8e and cables for around 150$ on ebay, so as soon As I receive the card and test it, i’ll let you know and maybe give a little bit more knowledge to internet about the sc200 :wink: