Harddrive purchase problem

—ok, after I wrote this out I realised it’s a bit on the tldr side, so tldr anyone know where I can get the cheapest 8tb+hdd that is new, im looking at 140$, if you want more context, read below for why—

Ok, My 4tb hdd has basically kicked the bucket but does not know it yet
Nothing I do will get it to flag bad sectors and it keeps running into them on the very last bits of the writeable space.
this hdd is mostly a game drive, so I have little issue with it being able to read data and let me play, its why I have been putting this problem off for a while.

I am also encountering another hdd issue, but this is a not enough space one, not a dying hdd one, that has more or less solved itself, if in a bit of a time intensive way.

Now that I know what drive I can focus my attention on, I chose the game drive.
Now, one of my major issues is I’m coming up on running out of space on my mass storage drive too, which, I can possibly extend the life of by parsing files, but I was planning on later this year biting a bullet and getting a 10-12+tb drive, but if I go the game drive, this may push that upgrade back a year.

right now im looking at an external 8tb drive for the game drive, and I want to stop you there before anything else is said, I am fully aware that a ssd is faster, I know a 7200 internal would be faster, I know 5200 are mostly for mass media and that’s it, I personally don’t care, if I run into a game where the loads are unbearable I can put it on my nvme for a few days while I beat it, and move it back to my game drive for when I get that itch to play it again, I am covered on all sides for any downfall of the usb external drive may have.

the reason it’s a 8tb external, i’m able to get it for 140$ from costco, the closest thing to this price I can find online is 190$ for an internal drive.