Guide to OpenBMC Build as Requested by Level1Techs

Hi, this is my first time posting! On the Linux DevOps 1000 cores video, I commented about my OpenBMC builds and the Level1Techs YT channel asked for more info, so I tried posting on YT, but they shadow-deleted my comment… I noticed a few hours later and tried again, just to get shadow-deleted a second time. After a third try, I was notified that my comments had been deleted because they were apparently “spam/deceptive practices”. Because that’s what I deserve for paying Google a premium subscription I guess.

Anyways, that’s why I came here. Hopefully, I won’t be shadow-banned on here.

So onto the guide:

1. Follow the readme from GitHub - openbmc/openbmc: OpenBMC Distribution.
    As for steps 3 and 4, I used the machine target “witherspoon-tacoma”. My company has custom/proprietary layers so I can’t provide the layers we use, but witherspoon-tacoma uses the AST2600, so it should be close enough. With this, steps three and four become:
  2. . setup witherspoon-tacoma
  3. MACHINE=witherspoon-tacoma bitbake obmc-phosphor-image

This resulted in 3545 setscene tasks and 7201 build tasks with this build configuration being reported:
Build Configuration:
BB_VERSION = “2.6.0”
BUILD_SYS = “x86_64-linux”
NATIVELSBSTRING = “ubuntu-20.04”
TARGET_SYS = “arm-openbmc-linux-gnueabi”
MACHINE = “witherspoon-tacoma”
DISTRO = “openbmc-openpower”

This was performed on our build server consisting of a dual-socket Xeon 8360Y system. The build took a total of “real 25m44.926s” on this system. Admittedly in a rather uncontrolled test. Download speeds could affect some of this and as this is a shared server, I can’t guarantee that the server isn’t performing other builds at the same time. However, the full build times don’t seem to change much day-by-day so I don’t believe this was affected by anything like another build happening concurrently.