Guide: iSCSI Target/Server on Linux with ZFS for Windows initiator/clients

Today I set up an iSCSI target/server on my Debian Linux server/NAS to be used as a Steam drive for my Windows gaming PC. I found that it was much more confusing than it needed to be so I’m writing this up so others with a similar use case may have a better starting point than I did. The biggest hurdle was finding adequately detailed documentation for targetcli-fb, the iSCSI target package I’m using.

I only figured out this out today and I’m not a professional. Please take my advise as such. I did piece a lot of this information from other places but have not referenced all of it.

ZFS zvol Setup for iSCSI Storage

If you’re not using ZFS you can skip this and use the file-based iSCSI backend to store your iSCSI disk as one big file, or research applicable block-based backends for your filesystem. The file-based backend may be very slow, so review your options before using it.

I’m using a zvol as the backend for my iSCSI drive. A ZFS volume (zvol) is a dataset that represents a block device, rather than a dataset/filesystem like we normally use ZFS for. ZFS volumes are identified as devices in the ‘/dev/zvol/’ directory.

I have an existing ZFS zpool with sufficient free space for me to fill my iSCSI drive if I wanted to. I created the zvol like so:

zfs create -s -V 1tb -o volblocksize=4096 -o compression=lz4 h/iscsi-hafxb

Where:

*-V creates a zvol instead of a dataset, and requires a fixed size to be specified. 1tb sets the size to 1024 GB.

*-s creates a “sparse” zvol. This is NOT recommended by the Oracle documentation. I assume that if your zpool fills up, data loss, corruption, or write failures could occur on your iSCSI drive. However, without the -s flag, whatever size you give the zvol will immediately be permanently deducted from your free space on the zpool. This could be a “do as I say but not as I do” situation if there’s important data on your zpool.