Getting Started with VMs

Hey all, I've been a computer hardware enthusiast for a long time but I've never started to explore the enterprise realm until the past twelve months. I've put together a homelab and I want to start playing with VMs for various reasons(PfSense, Docker, ect.). However I'm really having a hard time figuring out where to get started and I'd like to be pointed in the right direction.

I was getting started with just some Hyper-V stuff but I don't particularly like how Windows Server handles hardware, and watching all these videos about IMMU Grouping, pass through and such makes me want to try Linux. I was trying to make a ZFS Root partition with Unbuntu but aside from being defeated by the command line I've also been defeated by not realizing that having a bunch of single drives as individual "pools" provides literally no redundancy like I thought it did(Maybe I'm a little dumb but as a complete newbie I found This video by 45 Drives to be kinda misleading to that degree).

In short, this world is filled with many shiny things and I have no idea where to get started. I'm using a Dell PE R710 for this project, I've got 24GB of RAM and 4x 500GB HDDs. I started with six of them a year ago and two have failed, leaving me with a great desire to have some parity until I can afford new drives.

PS. First post here, I apologize if i broke any rules or placed this in the wrong category!

ZFS has many redundancy options...You can have a mirror or raidz1 with the drives you have now.

No he means the actual storage pools, not how the pools are organized. OP that's why fibre channel, iscsi, etc exists. You can create storage pools in there with performance queues, redundancy, hot spares etc then point your hypervisor towards that's.

What do you mean you didn't like the way hyper v handled hardware? Just not having enough low end control?

Oh copy so he is looking into the vm storage pool redundancy?