Getting into Overclocking, not sure about the mobo

Hey guys,

I've just found this site today and decided to become a member. The write ups are great on here and just reading some of the 'over clocking ' stuff has helped my understanding.

Okay.... So motherboards.

My budget is $250 AUD for a Z170.
CPU - either a 6700k or wait for Kabby Lake.
GPU - Waiting for 1070s to drop a little more ( I current have a 1060 * Need to upgrade monitor too, may target it to handle a 1070 )
Storage - I want to setup a M.2 just for the operating system and some other minor core operating things.

I'm new to overclocking, and im not sure what motherboard to use from the price bracket above.

Asus Z170 -AR

ASRock- Fatal1ty K6

ASRock - Extreme 6+

Asus Z170- Pro Gaming

ASRock - Extreme 4

ASRock - Gaming K4

https://au.pcpartpicker.com/products/motherboard/#m=7,8&X=1948,25779&s=30&c=110&sort=d8&page=1

So what motherboard do i go for ? I do want to SLI in the future, no really in like 3 years or something. I was Asus- AR then I saw the ASRock Gaming K6.

I want to overclock both CPU and GPU. I play a-lot of pc games mainly though, titan fall / 2, battle field 4/1 and Doom

I have used the friendly search button and that has helped. Thanks guys

Awesome! finally someone else who like Titanfall!
OC'ing is a blast. Somehow it makes your pc "more personnel" like its now unique in some way. Faster is always nice too:)
Can't help much on the MB, i am more of an AMD on the cheapest MB I can find type of guy. Best of luck on the new build.
Welcome:)

Hey thanks for the reply.

Yea man it's an awesome game. I can't wait for number two, it looks great

Asus are pretty much the gold standard for motherboards. I would 100% go with Asus over ASRock. Gigabyte are also well known for making decent boards.

Did you say you already own a 1060? If so, there is really little point in upgrading to a 1070.