Fujitsu proprietary 16 pin PSU - help

Hi, my console died few days ago so I thought I will take your advice and finally decided to build my own PC, but since I am a complete noob I run into some issues.

I found a good deal on eBay for a business desktop and not thinking much bought it. The model is: Fujitsu Esprimo P420 E85+.
It has I3-4170 and 4Gb of ram, so I thought I will add another 4Gb of ram, and already had a Gtx 970 and Seasonic S12II 520W power supply from a friend ready to put together, but to my surprise the motherboard and PSU on it seems to be non standard and only 280W.

From what I found online, this models use 12V only PSU’s with a 16pin connector, and also found a recent discussion on another forum where people try to make it work somehow with ATX PSU’s (although with a different model):

stupid fujitsu 12v only psu 16pin connector

There is also a lot of cases where people just give up and scrap it… that would be a real shame to throw away working system especially because it’s got Win10 Pro license.

Is it possible to come up with some workaround to power it? would it affect PSU?
I am ok to mod the case with a dremell tool to fit it but when it comes to electronics I am clueless.

Any Ideas?
Thank you.

The only idea I have is getting a multimeter and reading what each pin on the 16 pin plug does and then rewiring it to the appropriate wires on a regular PSU so you would end up with your Seasonic but with the Fujitsu plug on the end. but that is quite a bit of work.

Or if it works out right, you might be able to make a custom extension to plug on to the end of the regular 24 pin and have it go to a 16, other wise same as above, just need to buy a 24 pin socket you can wire the 16 pin plug to. Would be a but messy if it was possible but it would also mean no modding the Seasonic PSU.

2 Likes