From Novice to Gentoo

So @Goalkeeper told me to make a post, so here I am detailing how I went from WIndows to an almost full Gentoo ecosystem, and how I’ve been using Linux full time for a couple years at this point.

I started off, like many of you, believing that WIndows was the only option. It wasn’t until my first computer science classes at college that I saw my first Linux desktop. Of course, it was Ubuntu. As I started to code more and more, I needed to compile my code projects more and more so I started dual-booting Ubuntu on my laptop then quickly jumped with both feet in and wiped the windows partition.

Like many of you, this began my ever-long distro-hopping phase. It’s so easy and (gratis) free so why not? I installed all kinds of distros (including Arch, btw) and even some BSDs on my old trusty dell crapbook and was loving it. But, I needed a home. I eventually settled on Fedora because my goal was to work with Linux full time as a career, so why not get familiar with the RHEL ecosystem. The only thing is, Fedora wasn’t quite new enough for me. I like shiny, and I like new. As soon as the newest Fedora release came out, I would have to install it that day. Because I felt like I had to be this elite LInux Master :tm:. So then I moved on to Fedora Rawhide.