FreeNas System Randomly reboots

Im pretty new to freenas and Ive tried some suggestiongs that I have found online, but I cant seem to figure out why my system is randomly shutting down and how to prevent it from happening more.

Info
Version: FreeNAS-11.3-U4.1
CPU: i5-3570K
Ram: 12GB
Drives: 4 x 2TB

what does the crash log say? FreeNAS has powerful logging functions and will have recorded what it was doing prior to the crash.

Click on the Alerts icon in the top right hand corner. It will tell you what it was doing when it crashed.

Usually a random shutdown happens when the system overheats, but if you have adequate cooling then you will need to troubleshoot all the components in turn.

Make sure you backup your data asap.

Where would I see the crash logs?

When I click on the alerts icon its just says:

WARNING

freenas.local had an unscheduled system reboot. The operating system successfully came back online at Wed Jul 29 05:53:16 2020.

The temps were previously fairely high but I bought a new cooler and tried to stress the system and couldnt get the cpu temps super high like going back through them temp logs on the dashboard I could only see a max temp of 75 C and that was only one point on the graph

Thanks for the additional detail. Unless you were doing something on the box at 5am that error tells me that it may have crashed during a scrub. Note if your pool is large then a scrub may take some time, possibly hours. If that is the case then it may have momentarily overheated and the motherboard shutdown. Your stress test may not have simulated a several hours full load with the case closed up.

I had a box that would overheat during a scrub in a similar manner and the log wouldn’t catch that as it is a hardware lockout, so it wouldn’t get written. I solved it with more fans.