Flexible fitness logger that works

Hi,
I’m a fresh CS graduate from the uni of Dundee (Scotland). At the moment working remotely as a GO developer (still in training).

So my Devember2021 project idea is actually the same idea I had for my honours project at uni (final year project). However, that project failed because I tried to implement it with micro-services at a time when I did not have any real world skills in this topic (plus add on top the fact that I had to also learn other topics, and other uni subjects that were going on at the same time). So here is me coming back almost making it (almost) from scratch.
The only parts that were re-used were just some authentication code.

The actual project itself is a fitness (or workout) logger that ultimately would be able to be setup by each individual to track the data that they want.
The reason why this can be a challenge is simply because every individual would want to log their workouts differently in their own way (which is why 95% of people would use notepad and pen, and I did too). The reason why I want an electronic solution is so that eventually this would be able to plot the data on charts and graphs.

Tech

• Golang
  • Mongo
  • Some basic webapp tech (React or Vue…you can tell that im not too thrilled about writing frontend)

MVP v1.0

Input

• Repetitions
  • Sets of repetitions
  • Changing weight mindset (dropsets)
  • Notes
  • Custom exercise types and other custom data points

Output

• Historical view of different kinds of data (a table)
  • CSV (maybe?)

Extended MVP v2.0

• Tags (which would be able to be added ideally on any data, when searched by it)
  • Trends
  • Graphs

Repo link

1 Like

I’ll throw my 2c in here, react is almost as much of a pain as angular, so I highly recommend vue.

1 Like