Fixing Coil Whine - Corsair CX750M

I have a Corsair CX750M PSU and I have some of the infamous "coil whine." I know you can test a power supply out of a system by jumping the startup signal wires, but could I hook the PSU up to a test open-bench system to see if I can narrow down the sound to a single component, because I'm guessing I won't get coil whine without some load. If that was possible is it smart to replace components in a PSU, like a transformer or capacitor. Or would I be in danger of frying a system by hooking up a PSU, after attempting some repair and screwing up, to a system?

*I get more audible coil whine in Windows 10 than in Ubuntu Gnome 16.04 or Fedora 25 by the way.
*I'm a college student so low budget + multimeter = budget solution?
*I've worked with hybrid car batteries so I know to be careful with this stuff ;)

My system:
intel i7 - 4770k (stock clock)
MSI Z97 Gaming 5 - ATX
4x8gb DDR3
2x1tb HDD
2x256gb SSD
1x275gb m.2 (not nvme, 10gbs connection)
amd rx480 4gb sapphire nitro+
AND the damn corsair cx750m.

If it could talk it would probably be doing this...
https://images.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=https%3A%2F%2Fmatthewsdent.files.wordpress.com%2F2014%2F05%2Fdata-mister-tricorder.jpg&f=1

...Why?...
Anyways...
if {the power supply is new}
then
{
return it
}else{
if {the noise is new}
then
{
get rid of it. You don't want your PC to die. The system should not eat more than 400-450W, so any decent 500W power supply from an actual quality manufacturer will be fine.
}
}

Either way, don't try and break something in it. You don't know what it may take with itself when it dies...

Just my opinion though...

3 Likes

Any good quality 500W PSU will do.
The Seasonic S12II 620 runs for 70 bucks on amazon.

2 Likes

rma it if you can and if not buy a new one. even if you can fix it the risk is not worth it.