First PC

Hey guys, I’m relatively new to the pc world and I want to start my first pc build, I’m a very casual gamer and don’t really have a bunch of time to play. So I would like to put together a low end budget pc just to play Minecraft and be able to use light mods. My budget stands between 800-1000 dollars and i was wondering if someone could recommend some hardware, I’ve helped friends build pc’s in the past but have no clue how to start mine, I would prefer to run a ryzen core and Microsoft OS.

1 Like

Well start from there.
Find a motherboard you like the look of. Since you are extremely casual looks seems to be more important than features. Find a board you like the looks of, then find a memory kit you like the look of.
The find a case you like the look of. Or good cooling performance, or any preference really.
Grab an NVMe SSD for OS and software, grab a SATA SSD for games and bulk storage.
After that grab a power supply of about 600-650W at the very least bronze from a brand with good reviews.
Whatever you have left - line up a few GPUs for the price and check out performance reviews.
Aaaand you are done.

Not much has changed really.
We are up to new sockets for CPUs, faster GPU and RAM speeds, higher SSD speeds, but in general the basic rules are still the same.

1 Like

Building a PC? There is one place to go; https://pcpartpicker.com/

There you can concept out your PC Build, or, you can just copy some of the many posts of PC systems made. Here is a link of systems posted that are AM5 @ around $900; Completed Builds - PCPartPicker

Well, this is going to be tricky. You have not supplied two crucial details; What resolution are you aiming for (and do you already have a screen), and how long do you plan to run this PC for? Are you thinking about upgrades in a year or two?

I have two systems to recommend. One I would get if upgrades are basically off the table (RAM, Storage and GPU upgrades do not count). One I would get if upgrades are your jam.