File share between Windows 10 and Windows 98SE

I’d like to be able to share files between the two.

I’ve followed the instructions here https://youtu.be/t3hKGgBH84g with no luck. I asked the author and he stated he believed a Windows 10 update “broke it”.

This isn’t crucial but it would be a hell of a lot easier to get files to the 98 machine via network that copying them to and from USB drive

Thx

If your trying to run a share under a workgroup or similar, this is likely using SMB (I’m rusty on windows tech)

As far as I’m aware 98 doesn’t support anything above SMBv1, and SMBv1 isn’t available on any supported operating system by default because it will leave your system and network vulnerable.

Keep your 98 machine off network. Its highly vulnerable and it could leave patched machines vulnerable as well.

2 Likes

Total noob reply here, nno idea what I am talking about.

Would it be possible to bridge them safely with Linux as the go between that can work with both of them?

This is interesting.
Be sure to block all the spyware from WIN98 LOL

you could use an FTP server. or make a small apache server with a PHP upload

1 Like

Anything Windows Vista and earlier should be dark and be on a heavily restricted VLAN with no outside access.

We have some windows server 2000 machines that run dark because it is not safe to have then safe on the network with other more modern clients due to their security risk.

If you must share files between them then you should keep using a flash drive/external hard drive. Do not, and I repeat, DO NOT have them on the same network unless on separate VLAN’s.

Nope. The protocols they support are too old and full of holes to be used in conjunction with newer OS’s.

Seriously.

My company just got hit with WannaCry a few months ago and if it wasn’t for VLAN’s we would’ve been fucked . We have 600 machines on our network.

Its no joke; do not network anything less than Windows 7 together.

2 Likes