Fedora 36 vs Ubuntu 22.04, is Fedora > Ubuntu for the stable but modern enthusiast?

I’ve always used Ubuntu LTS as my daily driver but am tempted by Fedora 36, Fedora seems to be taking over as the distro at the sweet spot of modern yet stable. Pipewire, full gnome 42, kernel 5.17, gcc 12, flatpak. Compare that to Ubuntu which seems a little behind on all counts despite both being released this month (5.15 LTS is understandable being LTS). Fedora 36 defaulting to newer versions and more modern solutions instead of potentially straddling versions over time seems cleaner, maybe it’s just my OCD.

Are there any gotchas to be aware of switching from Ubuntu to Fedora, any tips? Is this the wrong way to think about the comparison?

2 Likes

Not necessarily “wrong” but at the end of the day it’s all preference.

I’ve been running Fedora for 3 years now and F36 since a couple days ago. No major issues so far really.
Except for the F36 installer being borked in certain scenarios, but hey it’s beta and it’s already marked as a blocker for the release.

Anyway, as for

Well the package management is different (unless you use the GUI tools only, in which case it should be identical).
Fedora uses dnf as opposed to Debian’s apt. One thing you should definitely set up after installing is RPM Fusion. For legal reasons Fedora’s “native” repo only ships non-patent-affected open source software. Open Source software with potential patent issues (x264 and ffmpeg come to mind) are in RPM Fusion free, closed source software (Steam, Discord, …) is in RPM Fusion non-free.

There’s also an equivalent to Ubuntu PPAs, which is COPR. However, the same restrictions as the “native” Fedora repos apply. So it’s not quite the wild west as the AUR or even the PPAs where basically anything is allowed.

2 Likes

Ive been on Fedora exclusively for the past 4+ years

Its been great for me.

Oh yeah it’s been the first distro that didn’t shit the bed after 2 days for me, so that’s a plus :+1: