Fedora 27 fresh install, crackling audio

Hi all,

I just finished my Ryzen build, a bit late to the party, but got some good deals.

I’m encountering an issue. The left audio channel on the line-out is crackling. I’ve tested multiple audio devices (bookshelf speakers, headphones, portable speakers) and have verified that they all work properly when plugged into my phone.

It’s a clipping/crackling sound coming from only the left channel. I’m not really a pro when it comes to audio, so I was wondering if anyone knows of a solution to this issue.

PCPP hardware link: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/kbyKyf

Motherboard is AsRock Taichi x370, R7 1700, AMD RX 580, SeaSonic Focus 850.

been also having this issue when i have audio playing then something like discord opens on my browser.

thinking it might be because of different sample rates

1 Like

I ran into a similar issue, it is due to different sample rates, though how to fix it i didn’t bother, i just used an external DAC and that fixed the issue for me.

2 Likes

I’ve had similar issues on Fedora in the past with audio crackling and it was caused by speech-dispatcher and disabling it on the config file fixed it.

2 Likes

Nuke the audio drivers and reinstall… Realtek :frowning: Hit me today actually. Consider a fresh download as I noticed my original driver did not complete correctly. Should be able to uninstall with the download but have to reboot twice. One for the uninstall and one for the install. Don’t skip.

For windows 10 not sure about fedora ? I guess I could slap fedora in and play with it. :slight_smile:

@SgtAwesomesauce if you want the best DAC solution check these out - http://www.schiit.com/products/modi-2

I’m running multiple of these. For something cheaper, any ‘USB DAC’ off Amazon would still be better than any motherboard-direct solution.