Extreme high-end PC (13700k + 4090) - Any real solution to limit noise under high load?

I’ve been building PCs for 30 years (starting with 386SX-25!) and I’ve briefly experimented with water cooling but almost always stuck to air cooling.

My typical solution was to put the PC in a different room (or basement) and use fiber optic cables for DVI/HDMI and USB to reach my monitor. The quiet was amazing. However, now I need to put the gaming monster on my desk and boy is it loud.

Brief specifications:

• i7-13700k
  • 4090 RTX
  • Noctua NH-D15 cooler
  • Fractal Design R5 case
  • Noctua NF-A14 + NF-A15 fans

This PC is obviously going to generate a tremendous amount of heat from the CPU/GPU) but does anybody have any suggestions? I’m thinking about a larger case and AIO water blocks maybe? Would that become “very quiet” or is it basically impossible with this high-end rig?

I don’t want to derail your thread. But There is a fresh discussion going on just now over here

1 Like

You want a high end performamce computer.
You want it to not be loud.

These 2 goals are fundamentally in direct conflict.

A good analogy is somebody buying an SUV and then complaining that the mpg is worse than the corolla they came from.

2 Likes

I think you’ll have to water cool both cpu and gpu, and try to oversize it so the radiator fans don’t really spin up.

At leat this is what I had to do with my 12700k & RX 7800 XT. Because boy were the fans loud and the temps high.

1 Like

You could also do what others have done, and that is to run the computer from another room/closet (with sufficient ventilation, of course) but then you have to deal with running the cabling between rooms/through the wall.