EU-friendly mobile hotspot

Friend of mine asked me this and I have no experience with mobile hotspots, especially in Europe. Anyone have any go-to’s? She needs to shuttle semi-large files (hundreds of megs to gigabytes) over a VPN and to/from Google Drive.

I’d like to get some advice on portable equipment as I’m looking to spend a few months in Europe and retouch remotely. Specifically I’m looking into a mobile hotspot solution, a separate device from my phone. I came across a netgear nighthawk M1 or something called skyroam and there were others. Do you have any experiences with wifi on the go? It would be as backup in case I can’t get solid internet but to make sure I can always upload/download work. Any suggestions?

I believe this is mainland EU (not UK).

@oO.o which country?

Knowing which country makes it easier to give you specific info, e.g. Greece vs Germany - carriers are different, … but hardware is the same.

It’s actually easier than you think, anything more expensive than £100 for a modem is a waste of money, don’t bother.

Any plan more expensive than £50 a month in any way country for e.g. 50G of data / or 5G/day or something like that is a rip-off, don’t bother.

Data roaming within the EU is not unlimited, it might be unlimited with an asterisk to no more than 100G per month in another country or some other caveat. Check the fine print when choosing a sim/contract and do shop around (UK pricing is pretty low, getting a sim there is probably not a bad idea). Getting to this fine print is surprisingly hard, it’s a legal mandate to have it online but carriers they try to burry it behind lifestyle advertising.

Option 1) Maybe just use a phone to tether - bring a spare or buy something like a oneplus that’s got dual SIM slots. (More then 100 but it’s a good phone).