EPYC Based Workstation

Hi all,

I am thinking of switching to AMD’s new EPYC processors for a new workstation build. The main use-case for it is CryoEM data processing.

Since it will be mainly used for GPU bound jobs, I am currently looking at ASRocks
EPYC boards. The workstation will have 4 gpus and 256-512 gigs of memory.

On paper, it looks terrific. But I have never used ASrocks boards before.
Any gotchas?

In a university/work setting:
When you build the system, you support it.
When Supermicro, Dell, HPE, etc. ship it, they support it.

At home, your choice.

2 Likes

Newer board would natively support pci-e 4 and faster ram speeds with Rome, not sure if the old gen boards will still do pci-e 4, not sure if gen 4 nvme is important or not

1 Like

Don’t count on PCIe4 support for older boards, also if it’s just GPU workloads you don’t really need it.

I can understand the need for the extreme core count, but I can’t help but think you could get the same bang with a lower buck with threadripper.

Not up to date on epyc offerings could totally be speaking out of my ass, but if ECC is your worry I can attest that even X370 has ECC support and I’ve only heard of even better support for ECC on threadripper. At least if you have any interest in shaving down the cost.

Otherwise uncharted territory for me, but I imagine that once you’re aiming at epyc the chipsets won’t be limiting you much in any way in terms of feature sets…Unless AMD went a more intel approach with the most recent line up.

1 Like

Very good point.

Also, with the job this workstation has to do and the amount of ram, you must have ECC. Rule of thumb for memory is 1 error per gigabyte of memory every 24 hours.