Employment for a Brit in the US

I'm a developer with a degree in Computer Technology currently living in the UK, I've got a few years experience with web dev and I hope to use my skills in the US. any advice for a wannabe ocean hopper? I had the excellent fortune to marry a lovely 'merican I met on the interwebs 3 years ago and she has been living with me here since then. I assume that would being married to a native would be a bonus in my favour, But the immigration / work visa advice is lengthy, obtuse and occasionally contradicts itself especially with the complication of an international marriage. I wonder if anyone has any experience with getting hired from over seas as a ex-pat or as an employer of ex-pats if getting a marriage visa then a job or the other way around would be the best idea. 

Kind of an odd request I know, but my wife and I would be forever grateful for any help!

Keep being awesome.

David.

As you're married to an American what's preventing her from moving back and you living with her? I thought that would be the easiest way to get there.

You are better off taking her to Britain with you.

Well being married and getting a work sponsor should make you a shoe in. Go look for jobs in an area you and your wife like and let the companies know that you will need a sponsor. Once you are working in the USA keep working on getting you citizenship, It should be easier with family (wife) in the states and you have a steady job.

Indeed, you can travel with your spouse and then stay there for ... I think it's 90 days? But we discovered with My wife coming over to Britain that you aren't allowed to be in the country while you apply for visas (at least over here and it appears to be the same over there)  It will probably be worth going over there and interviewing, then coming back while visas are sorted out, Having done more research I'm even more confused than I started.