Dual boot desktop

Hello everyone!

First time posting here. I am making the switch to Linux as my daily driver tomorrow. I am setting up my computer with a 3Tb Corsair M.2 ssd as the primary storage with Ubuntu loaded and a second 1Tb Samsung M.2 ssd with Windows 10 for anything that doesn’t run on Linux. I am a student at my local college studying for my BAS in Cybersecurity and System Admin. I know that Linux will be be my future professionally and personally but I am worried about compatibility with school programs so I would like to retain Windows for the near future until I am more comfortable going totally Linux.

What steps do I or should I take to make sure that the system build turns out great. I understand that sometimes in dualboot systems that the different OS’s can break each other.

My plan was to install Ubuntu with only the 3Tb ssd inserted. Take it out. Install the 1Tb ssd. Install Windows. Re-insert the 3Tb ssd and set it as the primary boot drive in BIOS and everything should be good to go.

If anyone has any experience with a setup like this and has some advice I welcome your input.

Thanks in advance for the help guys!

System Build Parts List:

Ryzen 5 3600x
MSI X370
MSI Radeon 5700
Team T-Force Vulcan 32gb RAM
Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 2TB
Samsung 1TB M.2
EVGA 650w Gold+ PSU
Fractal Design Focus G Black Case

Personally I would recommended installing windows first. Then install Ubuntu on your M.2, and set it as the boot drive.

This way you can use the grub bootloader to switch between the 2 OS’s easily. Installing Windows after Ubuntu would still work fine. But will require some further steps, so may as well make it easy on yourself :smiley:

Also consider running Windows in a QEMU/KVM virtual machine. It’s much nicer/more efficient than having to keep rebooting. Plus it’s a really cool project if you want to learn something.

1 Like