Downtime migrating hosts for very small site/email?

I have a very tiny personal site with Hostinger and have had a bit of email downtime this weekend which was fairly annoying.

If I migrate to something like Hostgator, any clue on what kind of downtime I’d be looking at? Support’s answer was “it depends”.

Going through job hunting right now so would hate to miss (another) important message from a recruiter. I could always use a temporary professional gmail for a few days as a backup.

Honestly spending a bit of money goes a long way in my experience. Since I started playing with VPS I ended up hosting a few small static sites for friends and their businesses, but email was always a bit of a problem. DIY is super time consuming and potentially VERY dangerous if neglected, and shared hosting email always sucked.

Most of them settled on either iClouid+ for 1$ a month or non-Apple users went for some Israeli mail host, still about a dollar a month.

~4$ buys you hosting from Microsoft or Google and they do have better anti-malware built-in.

1 Like

Yeah was looking at protonmail and tutanota as a more permanent solution. Would need to switch hosts, looks like a ~12 hour propagation in which the address should work fine. Will probably do this next Saturday.

In the future need to transfer the domain ownership from Hostinger to namecheap or something as well, possibly more down time for that?

Switching MX record doesnt cause downtime per se, your mx record query will always return an IP, the trouble is that for a certain amount of time (the 12-24 hours mentioned above) some servers may go to either the old or the new service depending on the state of the records.