Does DRM Protection Encourage Piracy?

I am new to PC gaming and have been reading up about Steam.

Yesterday, I was reading about how a person bought a new PC game from the store, put the physical disk in his computer only to have a message saying that they needed to have a Steam account in order to play the game. This was a single player type game so there was no need for a gaming server.

After reading about 3 pages of the person getting flamed for buying the disk and questioning why a Steam account was needed, someone suggested that a cracked .exe file should sought out and inserted on the legally purchased game to bypass Steam all together.

I came across a different person who did not have access to Internet for weeks at a time and was unable to play their single player games due to the need that an Internet connection was required when starting the games.

So at what point does a person say "I really want to pay for this game but I don't want to support the DRM features that go with it so I will just pirate it." ?

Your user name makes this even more hilarious.

Its like a gold bot with an attittude problem. LOL

sfkdjhsdf dsffsd - first off, I am not for piracy. I am looking for an intelligent conversation on the subject. For instance, a person is able to purchase a movie on disk and it does not require an Internet connection to be watched. However, pc games do require an Internet connection even when the disk is bought. Does this mean that dvd movies will be going to the same thing in the future?

Vadisi - how original.

Freaksmacker - no idea what you mean. Please elaborate.

Vadisi - did you think of using the picture all by yourself or did you steal the idea from somewhere else just like your first reply?

Dude relax, Jesus Christ up there is just doin some stoner role play because we are actually really fucking weird here at Teksyndicate, but in a fun way.

As for Vadisi and Freaksmacker they were making fun of Jesus's outburst.  Not directed at you.