Docker networking for groups of containers

Hello to everyone taking the time to read me!
I have a question about Docker containers networking!

Is it possible to expose multiple containers under a single IP address different from the Docker host’s IP on the local network?

The idea I’m looking into is being able to have a single IP on the local network that would point to a specific set of containers and also have said containers able to communicate with each other inside the group. It would also be useful for freeing up ports on the host.
The host is an unRAID server and I’m okay with using Portainer or even command line if needed.

I have attached a graphical example of what I was looking into doing in case it helps understanding what I’m looking for.

Thank you very much for taking some time to help! :blush:

Hi,

I am new to docker, so I would welcome corrections to anything that I say. With that said, I know of one way to accomplish your goal.

In order to setup services on a different IP than the host IP, I would recommend looking into docker VLANs. I setup a MACVLAN network and that has been working well for me.

After setting up this network, you will need to use docker-compose to startup your containers. Using docker-compose will allow you to connect multiple services to one IP. Below I have a docker-compose.yml file where I accomplished what you were interested in. A lot of the file is not relevant to what you’re trying to accomplish, but I’ll point out a couple key items.

• The MACVLAN network was setup outside of this docker-compose.yml file. During the setup of the network, you can select an IP range for containers on the vlan. I called this vlan mac_vlan_8ip, but you can call it whatever you want.

• Because the vlan is created outside of this docker-compose.yml, it is necessary to declare it as an external network underneath the networks part of the docker compose file (at the bottom of this file).