Dishrec: an open source audio bodypack recorder with global timecode

Dishrec is an embedded audio recorder I’m developing, and I’ll be chronicling my journey, here (for now, at least). As some of you know, I’m an audio engineer (production), but I do know some programming, and ultimately aim to create tools that I and others like me can use.

The summary:

2 Likes

A couple things:

As I understand it, most audio programming (DAWs, vst plugins, etc) is done in C++, and PlatformIO allows me to write basically std C++ code and it will compile and upload it to the ESP32. So while I could use C and write bare-metal code for a cheaper MCU, one aim is to make the code more portable so that I can use it in other audio projects that aren’t embedded.

Beyond that, I quite like C++, compared to C. The logic is clear when interfacing objects at higher levels, so I find it pleasant and more manageable. It is merely a personal preference, but I prefer something like e.g.,
sdcard.write(buffer.get())
vs
sdcard_write_buffer_to_current_file(get_current_buffer_output())
or whatever that may look like.

On this device, the plan is to receive timecode through periodic re-jams from dish.tc, which uses dark magic to receive a timecode signal via satellite.

There is a market for low-cost embedded recorders like instamic, but they all suffer from the same problem- no timecode. I bought 5 of the instamic pro as a sort-of disposable lav, and after losing 3, I’m glad I didn’t spend more. The mics on them sound good enough, but syncing 8 of them + 3 actual audio units and 4-5 cameras is just cumbersome. We read the jammed timecode coming from our recorders into the mic at the head and tail of the file, then sync in post by manually modifying the metadata to reflect the timecode we read minus the elapsed duration from the start of the file. It’s a pain, and it’d be great if dishrec could just catch TC within a few seconds of booting and stamp the file right away.