Disable Sync on NFS share from Freenas in Proxmox

Hi everyone,

I like to start off by saying I’m pretty new to Proxmox and Freenas. I’ve been messing with settings, making vm’s, breaking things and learning lol. The issue I’m having is I have a nfs share on Freenas that Proxmox is using for a Nextcloud VM. I also have another NFS share for backups that Proxmox also uses. It seems that nfs is way slower than iSCSI, which I also messed around with.

I did some reading and at least part of the issue is NFS wants to sync for data integrity, and Freenas which is of course ZFS also wants to do this. I’d rather ZFS do all the syncing since it is the backbone of the storage. Can anyone point me in the right direction for optimizing the Proxmox side of this. Also if I’m all sorts of jacked up please let me know lol.

In the future I’d like to have more ssd storage on the Proxmox host and then just set up backups to Freenas but storage is expensive lol. Thanks in advance for any help!

::edit:: Here is an example of speeds, this is right at an hour of progress. I should add the Freenas has two 10g nics lagg in LACP and proxmox has four 1gig nics also aggregated in LACP. Not that it maters much because 10g switches are also expensive lol

I’m just gonna follow for informational reasons. I too just installed proxmox and freenas. But you got farther than I have. I have yet to get iscsi going successfully. Not enough free time in my life

Sync write performance will get better if you add a log device into the pool.

Just to be clear that’s adding a log device to freenas correct?

yeah, what @ulzeraj is talking about is a SLOG (Separate LOG devices). Freenas (really ZFS) writes synchronous files to a ZIL (ZFS Intent Log) before writing to main disk. When all you have is HDDs though, the ZIL is stored on the main pool causing double-writes, which can hurt performance. Adding a SLOG can claw that perfomance back.